Museum

The museum in the Schumann House can be found on the first floor, in the former quarters of Robert and Clara Schumann.

Cabinets:

The focus of the display in the two cabinets is twofold. On the one hand, it presents Robert and Clara Schumann’s youth and their respective artistic development, and on the other hand, it gives a thorough overview of the great significance of the Schumann House as a place of international encounter for artists.  Among some of the interesting pieces in the exhibit are the square piano belonging to Friedrich Wieck (built ca. 1825) as well as the original preserved fortepiano belonging to Wilhelm Wieck from the year 1866.

Robert Schumann’s Office:

The office, which was redesigned in 2010, recalls Schumann’s dual talent as composer and writer. Such famous compositions as his “Spring Symphony” or the first movement of his famous piano concerto were composed in this room.  There are two listening stations, which offer the opportunity to hear the music in its place of origin, as well as to become acquainted with Robert and Clara Schumann’s marriage diaries.

Sound Room:

Reminiscent of the Biedermeier-period rooms, the Sound Room was added as an enrichment to the museum on September 12th 2015.  The room’s aesthetic appearance as well as its manifold uses allow it to connect the history of the house with its vibrant current purpose as a museum, event location and musical elementary school.  In the center of the room, you will find a sound installation by the artist Erwin Stache. 

Schumann Hall:

The Schumann Hall with its fine wall ornamentation, which has been restored to match the original, is not only part of the museum, but also a gem among concert halls in Leipzig and the surrounding region. The young newlyweds used this hall to receive guests; among them such well-known contemporaries as Hector Berlioz, Franz Liszt, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and the fairytale author Hans Christian Andersen.  The hall’s furnishings with timber floor boards and double wing doors, as well as an oven from the mid-19th century provide an authentic overall impression.  Today the Schumann Hall is the location of numerous chamber music concerts throughout the year, as well as the renowned Schumann Festival Week. Furthermore, it is possible to rent the hall for special occasions and concerts.

Museum

Das Museum im Schumann-Haus befindet sich in den ehemaligen Wohnräumen Robert und Clara Schumanns in der 1. Etage.

Kabinette:
Die Ausstellung in den beiden Kabinetten thematisiert zum Einen Robert und Clara Schumanns Jugend und ihren jeweiligen künstlerischen Werdegang. Zum Anderen gibt sie einen umfassenden Überblick über die große Bedeutung des Schumann-Hauses als internationale Künstlerbegegnungsstätte. Interessante Ausstellungsstücke sind z.B. das Tafelklavier Friedrich Wiecks (Baujahr ca. 1825) sowie der original erhaltene Hammerflügel von Wilhelm Wieck aus dem Jahre 1866.

Arbeitszimmer Robert Schumanns:
Das 2010 neu gestaltete Arbeitszimmer geht von der Doppelbegabung Schumanns als Komponist und Schriftsteller aus. Hier schrieb er so bedeutende Kompositionen wie die "Frühlingssinfonie" oder den ersten Satz seines berühmten Klavierkonzertes. Zwei Hörstationen geben Gelegenheit, Musik am Ort ihrer Entstehung zu hören und Auszüge aus Robert und Clara Schumanns Ehetagebücher kennen zu lernen.

Klangraum:
Im Stile eines Biedermeierzimmers bereichert der Klangraum seit dem 12. September 2015 das Museum im Schumann-Haus Leipzig. Mit seinem ästhetischen Erscheinungsbild und den vielfältigen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten verbindet er sehr eindrücklich die Historie des Hauses mit der heutigen lebendigen Nutzung als Museum, Veranstaltungshaus und musischer Grundschule. Herzstück des Raumes ist eine Klanginstallation des Künstlers Erwin Stache.

Schumann-Saal:
Der originalgetreu restaurierte Schumann-Saal mit seinen feinen Wandverzierungen ist Teil des Museums und ein Kleinod unter den Konzertsälen in Leipzig und Umgebung. Vom jungen Ehepaar Schumann wurde er zum Empfang von Gästen genutzt, darunter so berühmte Zeitgenossen wie Hector Berlioz, Franz Liszt, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy und der Märchendichter Hans Christian Andersen. Die Ausstattung des Saales mit Holzdielung, Flügeltüren sowie einem Ofen aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts vermittelt einen authentischen Gesamteindruck. Heute finden hier jährlich zahlreiche Kammermusikkonzerte und die renommierte Schumann-Festwoche statt. Des Weiteren besteht die Möglichkeit, den Saal für besondere Anlässe und Konzerte zu mieten.